moves that the Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement designate Erin Leonard, Executive Director, Minnesota State Retirement System, to convene the first meeting of the board of directors of the Minnesota Secure Choice Retirement Program.

Explanatory note from LCPR staff:

Appointments have been made for the board of directors of the Minnesota Secure Choice Retirement Program, including the three appointments that the Commission was required to make. The appointees are the following:

By the LCPR

- Cynthia Geiwitz, recordkeeping 401(k) plans seat
- Danica Goshert, individual retirement accounts seat
- James Miley, retirement plan investments seat

By the Governor

- Alex West Steinman, small business owner seat
- Robin Ritter, human resources executive seat

In addition to the appointed board members, the statute provides for two *ex officio* directors to complete the seven-member board of directors:

- Executive Director, Minnesota State Retirement System (MSRS), Erin Leonard
- Executive Director, State Board of Investment (SBI), Jill Schurtz

Approval of the resolution, above, presented to the Commission for adoption at its meeting on February 12, 2024, completes one more task required by the legislation enacted in 2023. A session law (2023 Laws, Chapter 46, Section 10, Subdivision 2) requires the Commission to designate one member of the board to convene the first meeting of the board:

Subd. 2 **Board appointments; first meeting.** Appointing authorities must make appointments to the board of directors under Minnesota Statutes, section 187.08, by January 15, 2024. **The Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement must designate one member of the board to convene the first meeting of the board of directors,** which must occur by March 1, 2024. At the first meeting, the board shall elect a chair.