## Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement

Senator Julie Rosen, Chair

Tuesday, March 23, 2021 - 5:00 p.m.

## REVISED AGENDA\*

- 1. Approval of March 16, 2021, meeting minutes.
- 2. <u>SF 1303</u> (Pappas); <u>HF 1459</u> (Nelson, M.): St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association (SPTRFA); Delays the employee contribution rate increase and makes administrative changes.

Staff review: Chad Burkitt (Summary, GRS Letter-Impact of Delay)

Testifiers: St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association (presentation)

- Jill Schurtz, Executive Director

- Christine MacDonald, CFO/Deputy Director

3. <u>SF 2098</u> (Pratt); <u>HF 2188</u> (Mortensen): MSRS Correctional; Transfers one state employee's service credit from the general plan to the correctional plan.

Staff review: Chad Burkitt (Summary)

Testifiers: Kenneth Engle, Department of Human Services (DHS) employee

Carol Olson, Director of Forensic Services in Direct Care and Treatment, DHS Erin Leonard, Executive Director, Minnesota State Retirement System

4. <u>LCPR21-024</u>: MSRS Unclassified; Extends the grandfather provision for the use of factors effective in 2016 in computing annuities for retirees who are at least age 63 or have at least 26 years of service.

Staff review: Chad Burkitt (Summary)

Testifiers: Erin Leonard, Executive Director, MSRS (Letter)

**PUBLIC VIEWING INFORMATION:** This meeting may be viewed live on the LCPR YouTube Channel.

**TESTIFYING**: If you wish to testify or submit written testimony on any of the agenda items, please contact Lisa Diesslin at lisa.diesslin@lcpr.leg.mn by 6:00 PM on Monday, March 22, and you will receive further instructions.

**ACCESSIBILITY**: To provide feedback on digital accessibility of meeting information, please submit comments through the <u>Minnesota Legislature Accessibility & Usability Comment Form</u>. To learn more about requesting an accommodation, please visit the <u>FAQs for Disability Access</u> or contact the Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement at <u>Icpr@lcpr.leg.mn</u>.

This meeting is being held in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, Section 13D.021, and Legislative Coordinating Commission guidelines.

<sup>\*</sup> SF 1434 (Mathews); HF 671 (Mekeland) was removed from the agenda.

5. SF 1993 (Howe); HF 2163 (O'Driscoll): PERA; Extends the time period for purchasing service credit for periods of federally protected military service leave.

Staff review: Susan Lenczewski (Summary)

Testifiers: Doug Anderson, Executive Director, Public Employees Retirement Association

Matt Hilgart, Government Relations Manager, Association of Minnesota Counties

(Joint Letter)

6. <u>LCPR21-023</u>: Revises the requirement for bills drafted by commission staff for agencies and pension systems.

Staff review: Susan Lenczewski (Summary)

Testifiers: State Auditor Julie Blaha

- 7. SF 609 (Goggin); HF 419 (Drazkowski): Modifies the allocation formula for supplemental state aid paid to relief associations and the PERA Statewide Volunteer Firefighter Plan.
  - Delete-everything <u>Amendment S0609-1A</u>

Staff review: Susan Lenczewski (Bill summary, Amendment summary)

## Testifiers during the meeting:

State Auditor Julie Blaha

Nyle Zikmund, City Administrator, City of Mounds View

Todd Greseth, Volunteer Firefighter, Wanamingo Fire Department

Mike Scott, Fire Chief, Eagan Fire Department

Brian Rice, representing the Plymouth Firefighters Relief Association

BJ Jungmann, Chair, Minnesota Fire Association Coalition

Kurt Frison, Assistant Fire Chief, White Bear Lake Fire Department

## Testimony submitted in advance of the meeting:

Craig Clark, City Administrator, City of Austin

Mike Murphy, President, Apple Valley Fire Relief Association

Mark Schlangen, Fire Chief, Two Harbors Fire Department

Allen Lewis, Fire Chief/Emergency Manager, Virginia Fire Department

Mark Rosenblum, President, Minnesota State Fire Department Association

Joe Carpentier, Assistant Fire Chief, Oakdale Fire Department