Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement

Representative Kaohly Vang Her, Chair Monday, March 6, 2023 – 8:30 AM Capitol Room 120

AGENDA

- 1. Approval of February 27, 2023, meeting minutes.
- **2. Public testimony on benefit improvements for teachers** (for testifiers who signed up to testify at the February 27, 2023, meeting but the meeting ended before they could testify).

Testifiers: Lonnie Duberstein, Past President/Legislative Committee Co-Chair, Retired Educators Association of Minnesota (REAM)

Joan Beaver, Legislative Action Chair, Education Minnesota Retired

3. Minnesota Management & Budget presentation on the Governor's budget for public pensions.

Presenters: Thomas L. Carr, Executive Budget Officer, Minnesota Management and Budget Bryan Dahl, Financial Planning Director, Minnesota Management and Budget

- 4. Presentations by the pension fund directors on benefit changes and funding proposals.
 - Erin Leonard, Executive Director, Minnesota State Retirement System (MSRS)
 - Presentation
 - Doug Anderson, Executive Director, Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA)
 - Presentation
 - Jay Stoffel, Executive Director, Teachers Retirement Association (TRA)
 - 2023 TRA Legislative Benefit Proposal
 - <u>LCPR23-029</u>: Teachers Retirement Association (TRA board proposal)
 - Summary of LCPR23-029
 - Phillip Tencick, Executive Director, St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association (SPTRFA)
 - Presentation

PUBLIC VIEWING INFORMATION: This meeting will be broadcast by the House: www.house.mn.gov/live/2.

TESTIFYING: To testify or submit written testimony on an agenda item, please contact the Commission staff at lisa.diesslin@lcpr.mn.gov by 3:00 PM on Friday, March 3, identifying the specific item on which you would like to testify. Testimony is limited to the items listed on the agenda.

ACCESSIBILITY/ACCOMMODATION: To comment on digital accessibility to meeting information, please submit comments using the <u>Accessibility Comment Form</u>. To request an accommodation, please visit <u>FAQs</u> for <u>Disability Access</u> or contact the <u>Legislative Coordinating Commission at lcc@lcc.mn.gov</u>.

MEETING DOCUMENTS are posted on both the Commission website (<u>www.lcpr.mn.gov</u>), and the legislative calendars (<u>https://www.leg.mn.gov/cal?d1=03/06/2023</u>) as soon as they are available.

5. Public testimony on the pension fund proposals.

Note: Testimony will be limited to four (4) testifiers on each of the retirement fund benefit change/ funding proposals, and each testifier will have two (2) minutes.

Testifiers on the MSRS proposal:

Ethan Vogel, Legislative Director, AFSCME Council 5

Testifiers on the PERA proposal:

Ethan Vogel, Legislative Director, AFSCME Council 5

Brian Rice, representing the Minnesota Police Fraternal Association (handouts)

Testifiers on the TRA proposal:

Louise Sundin, Minneapolis Committee of Thirteen

NOTE: See next page for submitted testimony

Testifiers on the SPTRFA proposal:

Lori Borgeson, active member of St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association (SPTRFA)

Eugene Waschbusch, retired member of St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association (SPTRFA)

Submitted testimony in support of the TRA proposal:

Minnesota Association of School Administrators, Dr. Deb Henton, Executive Director

Paul Peterson, teacher, International Falls

Brian Wickenheiser, teacher, Esko

Mike Pothast, tech integration specialist 5-12/CSP instructor, Hermantown Community Schools

Jennifer Boese, kindergarten teacher, Winterquist Elementary School

Belinda Stutzman, teacher, Wayzata Public Schools

Lisa Dupuis, social studies, Esko High School

Julie Martzke, school psychologist, ISD #196 Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan

Jason Savage, High School Principal, Pillager Schools ISD #116

Jeremy Zywicki, elementary PE dept./asst. football coach, Esko Public Schools

Teressa M. Parker, teacher

Kathryn Almen, 5th grade English language arts teacher, Brainerd Public Schools

Melissa Cousino, first grade teacher, Pillager Elementary School

Janet Spreiter, special education teacher, Pillager Public School

Bethany Ocar, CLR English teacher, Hopkins High School

Shania Holst, 1st grade teacher, Pillager Elementary

Felicia Homberger, language arts instructor, Hopkins High School

Jeremy L. Frank, Special Education Teacher, Pillager Elementary

Submitted testimony in support of either/both the TRA and Education Minnesota proposals:

Robert Laine, public school teacher, Lake of the Woods High School, Baudette

Cheryl B. Lancette, Esko High School Spanish teacher

Chad Stoskopf, Esko Public Schools activities director/teacher

Shane Lee, Spanish/English teacher, Wheaton Area Schools 803

Sue Wagner, 7th/12th grade English teacher, Crookston High School

Robert W. Bestul, Lincoln Elementary School Principal, Hibbing Public School, ISD #701

Steve and Jill O'Toole, 6th and 4th grade teachers, Eden Prairie School District

Riley Krusmark, special education teacher, Goodhue, Minnesota

Julie A. Seiler, Minnesota public educator

Jennifer Rands, elementary teacher, Centennial School District

Wendy Graves, teacher, ISD #270 Hopkins

Kathleen Thompson, special education teacher

Holly Paschke, speech-language pathologist, Clover Ridge Elementary School

Alison Zak, peer coach, Prior Lake High School

Mike Carr, social studies teacher, Prior Lake High School

Kimberly Dahl, teacher, Esko Public Schools

Steve Clouse, Nashwauk-Keewatin High School teacher

<u>Jeff Kocur</u>, teacher, Hopkins Schools

6. <u>HF 2222 (Wolgamott)</u>; <u>SF 1938 (Frentz)</u>: Teachers Retirement Association and St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association (Education Minnesota proposal).

Summary

Testifiers: Sheila F. Fitzgerald, retired high school social studies teacher

Deb Muntor, 5th grade teacher in ISD #16, Spring Lake Park Schools

<u>Submitted testimony in support of the Education Minnesota proposal:</u>

Mollie H. Olson, teacher, Minneapolis Public Schools

Shari Clusiau, fourth grade teacher, Keewatin Elementary

Lisa Ruehling, math specialist, Jordan Public Schools

Scott Antonutti, teacher, Esko High School

Shane Jordan, teacher, Brainerd School District

Kim Stolski, third grade teacher, Baxter Elementary, Brainerd School District

<u>Jeff Aas</u>, social studies teacher, Bemidji High School

Jon DeMars, teacher, Mounds View Public Schools

Diane Solberg, teacher, ISD #138 North Branch

Dan Foss, agriculture teacher, Champlin Park High School, Anoka Hennepin Schools

Amy Randall, 6th grade teacher/union secretary, North Branch Area Middle School

David Gryte, teacher, ISD #138 North Branch

Robert Martin, Forestview Middle School Team 6D, Baxter/Brainerd Minnesota

Brent Bovitz, Minnesota public educator, Eden Prairie

Thomas Raymond, secondary English/Spanish teacher, Shorewood, Minnesota

Sara Strege, high school teacher, Prior Lake, Minnesota

Jennifer Cobb, teacher, Lake City

Charles Carlson, band director, Brainerd Public Schools

Mackenzie Madsen, teacher

Nick Ingles, English teacher, Prior Lake High School

Anne Jarzyna-Ingles, teacher

Katie Devaney, teacher, Burnsville, Minnesota

Meghan Fulton, English teacher, Prior Lake High School

Matthew Wagner, math teacher, Prior Lake High School

Layne Danielson, teacher, Brainerd Public Schools

Cindy Sudlow, teacher, Prior Lake

Maren Meade-Anderson, Lakeville

Robert Hapka, teacher, East Grand Forks

Will Baumann, economics and mathematics Instructor at a Minnesota community college

Hadley Mooney, 5th grade teacher, Winterquist Elementary School

Victoria Wright, Prior Lake

Katie McGraw, math teacher, Litchfield Middle School

Ann Reed, speech/language pathologist and TRA member