Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement

600 State Office Building

100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.

St. Paul. MN 55155-1201

HOUSE MEMBERS

Michael V. Nelson, Vice Chair Tim O'Driscoll, Secretary Kaela Berg Luke Frederick Kaohly Her Mary Murphy Jordan Rasmusson

SENATE MEMBERS

Julie A. Rosen, Chair Nick A. Frentz Jeff R. Howe John R. Jasinski Sandra L. Pappas Jason Rarick David H. Senjem

COMMISSION STAFF

Susan Lenczewski, Executive Director Chad Burkitt, Analyst Lisa Diesslin, Commission Assistant Phone: 651-296-2750 TDD: 651-296-9896 Fax: 651-297-3697 website: www.lcpr.mn.gov

May 16, 2022

REMOTE MEETING

MINUTES

Call to order:

Senator Julie Rosen called the meeting to order at 5:15 p.m. The meeting was conducted remotely through Zoom and broadcast via YouTube.

Commission Members Present:

Representatives Berg, Frederick, Her, Murphy, Nelson, O'Driscoll, and Rasmusson Senators Frentz, Howe, Jasinski, Pappas, Rarick, Rosen, and Senjem

Agenda Items

Approval of meeting minutes

Sen. Frentz moved approval of the March 22, 2022, meeting minutes. MOTION PREVAILED.

Motion LCPR22- M1: Approval of actuarial assumption change for the Spring Lake Park Firefighters' Relief Association

Susan Lenczewski, Executive Director, Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement (LCPR), reviewed the motion.

Sen. Pappas moved approval of Motion LCPR22-M1. MOTION PREVAILED.

Delete- Everything Amendment S3541- DE3: Pension Benefits and Funding Bill

Susan Lenczewski, Executive Director, and Chad Burkitt, Analyst, Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement, reviewed the delete-everything amendment.

Ms. Lenczewski reviewed Amendment S3541-4A.

Sen. Pappas moved amendment S3541-4A. **MOTION PREVAILED**.

Mr. Burkitt reviewed Amendment S3541-5A.

05.16.2022 Minutes.docx Page 1

Sen. Pappas moved amendment S3541-5A. MOTION PREVAILED.

Erin Leonard, Executive Director, Minnesota State Retirement System (MSRS), testified in support of the DE3 amendment.

Doug Anderson, Executive Director, PERA, testified in support of lowering the investment rate of return assumption.

Brian Rice, representing Minnesota Professional Fire Fighters (MPFF) and Minnesota Police Fraternal Association (MPFA), testified in support of the DE3 amendment.

Scott Vadnais, President, MPFF, testified in support of the DE3 amendment.

David Titus, President, Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association (MPPOA) and Ramsey County Sheriff's Office Inspector, testified in support of the DE3 amendment on behalf of the MPPOA and the Minnesota Sheriff's Association.

Gary Carlson, Executive Director, League of Minnesota Cities, and also on behalf of the Association of Minnesota Counties (AMC) and the Minnesota Inter-County Association (MICA), testified in support of the DE3 amendment.

Ethan Vogel, Legislative Director, AFSCME Council 5, testified in support of the DE3 amendment.

Edward Reynoso, Director of Political and Legislative Affairs, Teamsters Local #320, testified in support of the DE3 amendment.

Jay Stoffel, Executive Director, Teachers Retirement Association (TRA), testified in support of the DE3.

Kate Lynne Snyder, Acting Director of Government Relations, Education Minnesota, testified in support of the DE3.

Jason Savage, Principal, Pillager Schools ISD #116, testified in opposition to reducing the assumption rate, decreasing contribution rates, and increasing COLAs.

Paul Peterson, International Falls special education teacher, testified in opposition to reducing the assumption rate, decreasing contribution rates, and increasing COLAs.

Blaine Novak, Superintendent, New York Mills Public School, testified in opposition to reducing the assumption rate and increasing COLAs.

Jill Schurtz, Executive Director, St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association (SPTRFA), testified in support of the DE3.

Dr. Frederick M. (Mike) McCollor, SPTRFA Board President, and retired science teacher and principal, testified in support of the DE3.

Michael McKay, SPTRFA board member and Highland Park Senior High School teacher, testified in support of the DE3.

05.16.2022 Minutes.docx Page 2

David Kubes, Minnesota taxpayer, testified in opposition to the state aids and provided a handout.

Submitted Testimony

Devin Bruce, Public Affairs Coordinator, Minn. Association of Professional Employees (MAPE) letter in support of the DE, concern regarding IRAP employee contribution rate decrease.

Tracee Colgrove, Pillager Schools ISD #116 educator, email in opposition to the TRA provisions.

Lindsey Lallas, teacher, letter in opposition to lowering TRA contribution rates.

Jim Reed, Brainerd teacher, email in opposition to the TRA provisions.

Ryan B. Saulsbury, Pillager Schools ISD #116 educator, email in opposition to the TRA provisions.

Sue Turner, Pillager Schools ISD #116 educator, email in opposition to the TRA provisions.

Sen. Pappas moved to authorize staff to make any necessary technical corrections to SF3541 (Rosen); HF4016 (Nelson, M.). **MOTION PREVAILED**.

Sen. Pappas moved delete-everything amendment \$3541-DE3, as amended. MOTION PREVAILED.

Sen. Pappas moved SF3541 (Rosen); HF4016 (Nelson, M.), as amended, be recommended to pass and sent back to the House and Senate State Government Finance committees.

Members voting AYE:				Members voting NAY:
Chair Rosen	Sen. Pappas	Rep. Berg	Rep. Nelson	(none)
Sen. Frentz	Sen. Rarick	Rep. Frederick	Rep. O'Driscoll	
Sen. Howe	Sen. Senjem	Rep. Murphy	Rep. Rasmusson	

There being 12 ayes and 0 nays, the **MOTION PREVAILED.**

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 7:10 p.m.

05.16.2022 Minutes.docx Page 3