Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement

600 State Office Building

100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.

St. Paul. MN 55155-1201

HOUSE MEMBERS

Representative Kaohly Vang Her, Chair Representative Tim O'Driscoll, Secretary Representative Kaela Berg Representative Ethan Cha Representative Danny Nadeau Representative Michael Nelson Representative Dan Wolgamott

SENATE MEMBERS

Senator Nick A. Frentz, Vice Chair Senator Jeff R. Howe Senator Erin P. Murphy Senator Carla J. Nelson Senator Sandra L. Pappas Senator Jordan Rasmusson Senator Judy Seeberger

COMMISSION STAFF

Susan Lenczewski, Executive Director Chad Burkitt, Deputy Director Lisa Diesslin, Commission Assistant Phone: 651-296-2750 TDD: 651-296-9896 Email: lcpr@lcpr.mn.gov Website: www.lcpr.mn.gov

March 6, 2023

Room 120, State Capitol

MINUTES

Call to order:

Chair Her called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

Commission Members Present:

Representatives Her, Berg, Cha, Nadeau, Nelson, O'Driscoll, Wolgamott Senators Frentz, Howe, Nelson, Murphy, Pappas, Rasmusson, Seeberger

Agenda Items

Approval of meeting minutes

Sen. Frentz moved approval of the February 27, 2023, meeting minutes. MOTION PREVAILED.

Public testimony on benefit improvements for teachers (for testifiers who signed up to testify at the February 27, 2023, meeting but the meeting ended before they could testify).

Lonnie Duberstein, Past President/Legislative Committee Co-Chair, Retired Educators Association of Minnesota (REAM), testified in support of improving benefits for teachers.

Joan Beaver, Legislative Action Chair, Education Minnesota Retired, testified in support of improving benefits for teachers.

Minnesota Management & Budget presentation on the Governor's budget for public pensions

Thomas L. Carr, Executive Budget Officer, Minnesota Management and Budget, reviewed the Governor's budget recommendation for public pensions.

Presentations by the pension funds on benefit changes and funding proposals.

Erin Leonard, Executive Director, Minnesota State Retirement System (MSRS), reviewed the MSRS presentation, noting that the MSRS Board does not have a position but will discuss on March 16.

Doug Anderson, Executive Director, Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA), reviewed the PERA presentation.

030623 Minutes.docx Page 1 of 3

Phillip Tencick, Executive Director, St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association (SPTRFA), reviewed the SPTRFA presentation.

Jay Stoffel, Executive Director, Teachers Retirement Association (TRA), reviewed the 2023 TRA legislative benefit proposal.

Public testimony on the pension fund proposals.

Ethan Vogel, Legislative Director, AFSCME Council 5, with members in both MSRS and PERA, testified in support of improved benefits for active and retired members.

Brian Rice, representing Minnesota Police Fraternal Association and Minnesota Professional Fire Fighters, provided handouts and testified regarding the impact of inflation on PERA Police and Fire plan members.

Lori Borgeson, St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association (SPTRFA) active member, testified in support of increased benefits for St. Paul teachers.

Eugene Waschbusch, SPTRFA retired member, testified in support of increased post-retirement increases for retired St. Paul teachers.

Louise Sundin, Minneapolis Committee of Thirteen, testified in support of the TRA proposal and in support of HF2222; SF1938.

Submitted testimony in support of the TRA proposal:

MN Assoc. of School	Jennifer Boese	 Jeremy Zywicki	Bethany Ocar
Administrators	Belinda Stutzman	Teressa M. Parker	Shania Holst
Paul Peterson	Lisa Dupuis	Kathryn Almen	Felicia Homberger
Brian Wickenheiser	Julie Martzke	Melissa Cousino	Jeremy L. Frank
Mike Pothast	Jason Savage	Janet Spreiter	

Submitted testimony in support of either/both the TRA proposal and HF 2222; SF1938:

Robert Laine	Robert W. Bestul	Wendy Graves	Kimberly Dahl
Cheryl B. Lancette	Steve & Jill O'Toole	Kathleen Thompson	Steve Clouse
Chad Stoskopf	Riley Krusmark	Holly Paschke	Jeff Kocur
Shane Lee	Julie A. Seiler	Alison Zak	
Sue Wagner	Jennifer Rands	Mike Carr	

HF 2222 (Wolgamott); SF 1938 (Frentz): Teachers Retirement Association and St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association (Education Minnesota proposal).

Susan Lenczewski, Executive Director, Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement, reviewed the staff summary of the bill.

Rep. Wolgamott and Sen. Frentz presented and testified in support of their bill.

Kate Lynne Snyder, Education Minnesota, read the testimony of Sheila F. Fitzgerald, retired high school social studies teacher, in support of the bill.

Deb Muntor, 5th grade teacher in ISD #16, Spring Lake Park Schools, testified in support of the bill.

030623 Minutes.docx Page 2 of 3

<u>Submitted testimony in support of the Education Minnesota proposal:</u>

Mollie H. Olson	Dan Foss	Mackenzie Madsen	Maren Meade-
Shari Clusiau	Amy Randall	Nick Ingles	Anderson
Lisa Ruehling	David Gryte	Anne Jarzyna-Ingles	Robert Hapka
Scott Antonutti	Robert Martin	Katie Devaney	Will Baumann
Shane Jordan	Brent Bovitz	Meghan Fulton	Hadley Mooney
Kim Stolski	Thomas Raymond	Matthew Wagner	Victoria Wright
Jeff Aas	Sara Strege	Layne Danielson	Katie McGraw
Jon DeMars	Jennifer Cobb	Cindy Sudlow	Ann Reed
Diane Solberg	Charles Carlson		

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 10:03 a.m.

030623 Minutes.docx Page 3 of 3