# **Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement**

Centennial Office Building

658 Cedar Street, 1<sup>st</sup> Floor

St. Paul, MN 55155

#### HOUSE MEMBERS

Representative Kaohly Vang Her, Chair Representative Tim O'Driscoll, Secretary Representative Kaela Berg Representative Ethan Cha Representative Danny Nadeau Representative Michael Nelson Representative Dan Wolgamott SENATE MEMBERS Senator Nick A. Frentz, Vice Chair Senator Jeff R. Howe Senator Erin P. Murphy Senator Carla J. Nelson Senator Sandra L. Pappas Senator Jordan Rasmusson Senator Judy Seeberger COMMISSION STAFF

Susan Lenczewski, Executive Director Sean Kelly, Deputy Director Lisa Diesslin, Commission Assistant Phone: 651-296-2750 TDD: 651-296-9896 Email: lcpr@lcpr.mn.gov Website: www.lcpr.mn.gov

## **Executive Committee of the** Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement

## January 8, 2024 Remote Meeting

### **MINUTES**

#### Call to order:

Chair Her called the meeting to order from her office at the State Office Building at 10:04 a.m.

#### **Executive Committee Members Present:**

Chair Her, Vice Chair Frentz, and Secretary O'Driscoll

#### **Opening Remarks**

Chair Her provided the following opening remarks:

- This meeting is being held in accordance with the memo dated March 29, 2023, from the LCC chair and vice chair, regarding remote meetings during the 2023-2024 session.
- Pursuant to LCPR Rule 4, the Executive Committee will act on behalf of the full Commission between Commission meetings. The full Commission will be notified of Executive Committee actions.

## Agenda Items

#### Minnesota Secure Choice Retirement Program Board of Directors

- Consideration of applicants for three seats to be appointed by the LCPR
- Approval of appointments

Susan Lenczewski, Executive Director, Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement (LCPR), reviewed the underlying legislation, appointment process, applicants, and the <u>staff memo</u> and <u>Exhibit A</u>.

Chair Her moved approval of each of the following applicants, to the seat indicated next to each, to serve on the board of directors of the Minnesota Secure Choice Retirement Program, effective January 15th, 2024, subject, with respect to each applicant, to satisfactory completion of a background check:

- Cynthia Geiwitz, to the seat designated for an executive or operations manager with substantial experience in record keeping 401(k) plans;
- Danica Goshert, to the seat for an executive or operations manager with substantial experience in individual retirement accounts; and
- James Miley, to the seat for an executive or other professional with substantial experience in retirement plan investments.

### Roll Call

Executive Committee Members voting AYE:Members voting NAY:Chair HerVice Chair FrentzSecretary O'Driscoll(none)

There being three ayes and zero nays, the **MOTION PREVAILED** and these members are appointed to the Secure Choice board pending the aforementioned background check.

### Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 10:12 a.m.