Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
05.16.2022 Agenda

January 23, 2023, Pension Commission Meeting


  1. Member and staff introductions.

  2. Election of 2023-2024 Commission officers - Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary.
    • Chair - Rep. Kaohly Her
    • Vice Chair - Sen. Nick Frentz
    • Secretary - Rep. Tim O'Driscoll

  3. Approval of May 16, 2022, meeting minutes - Approved

  4. Brief overview of the Commission and Minnesota's public pension statutes and structure.
  5. Presentation by the Commission actuary, VIA Actuarial Solutions, on the work of the actuary and actuarial concepts.
    • Mark W. Schulte, FSA, EA, MAAA, President and Consulting Actuary
    • Emily M. Knutson, FSA, EA, MAAA, Consulting Actuary
    • Actuary Presentation

  6. Presentations by the Minnesota State Retirement System (MSRS) and Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA) executive directors on FY22 actuarial status.
    • Erin Leonard, Executive Director, Minnesota State Retirement System (MSRS)
    • Doug Anderson, Executive Director, Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA)
    • MSRS-PERA Presentation

PUBLIC VIEWING INFORMATION: This meeting will be streamed live by the House on HTV2.

ACCESSIBILITY/ACCOMMODATION: To provide feedback on digital accessibility of meeting information, please submit comments through the Minnesota Legislature Accessibility & Usability Comment Form.
To learn more about requesting an accommodation, please visit the FAQs for Disability Access or contact the Coordinating Commission at

Meeting Details

  • Monday, January 23, 2023
  • 8:30 AM
    Room 120, State Capitol Building
  • Meeting called by
    2021-2022 Vice Chair Rep. Michael Nelson

Printable Agenda

See the end of the agenda for information
about meeting livestreaming and accessibility/accommodation

2023-2024 Commission Members

Subscribe to meeting notifications