Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
05.04.2023 Agenda

Pension Commission Meeting Agenda for May 4, 2023

red bullet  **NOTE ROOM CHANGE TO CAPITOL 120**

red bullet  Meeting will be livestreamed by the House on HTV1:



1. Approval of April 17, 2023, meeting minutes. Adopted

NON-ACTION ITEM: Informational hearing only, no formal action will be taken

2. HF 3294 (Wolgamott); SF 3314 (Cwodzinski): Teachers Retirement Association (TRA); Lowering the normal retirement age to age 64; increasing employee and employer contributions for TRA and the Higher Education Individual Retirement Account Plan.
  • Testifiers:
    Lisa Olson, President, Elk River Education Association
    Rodney Rowe, Education Minnesota Secretary-Treasurer
    Peter Eckhoff, President, Robbinsdale Federation of Teachers
    Tiffany Dittrich, President, White Bear Lake Area Educators
    Julie Seiler, band teacher of 33 years, Minnesota Public Schools
    Sarah Lancaster, 2022 MN Teacher of the Year, Onamia Public Schools
    Jonathan Bohn, Director of Public Affairs, Inter Faculty Organization (IFO)
    Andrea Cuene, Government Relations, Minnesota School Boards Association
    Jay Stoffel, Executive Director, Teachers Retirement Association (TRA)
    Phillip Tencick, Executive Director/CIO, St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association (SPTRFA)
  • Submitted Testimony:
    Packet of testimony from Education Minnesota
    Steve Bliven, 5th grade teacher
    Brent Bovitz, Eden Prairie
    Steve Clouse, CTE teacher, Nashwauk-Keewatin ISD 319
    Carol Dallman, teacher, Minneapolis Public Schools
    Layne Danielson, Brainerd Public Schools
    Jennifer Delveaux, teacher, Minneapolis Public Schools
    Jon DeMars, teacher, Moundsview Public Schools
    Jessica Frisco, Minnesota educator
    Deb Hart, 3rd grade teacher, Heart of the Lakes Elementary, Perham
    Laura Heuton, teacher, Rochester
    Kimberly Husfeldt, Minnesota school psychologist
    Lisa Jepson, Moorhead High math teacher
    Amy Johnson, school social worker, ISD 624
    Jesse Johnson, teacher
    Matt Jones, business education teacher, Verndale Public School
    Jeff Kocur, Hopkins High School
    Bob Laine, Lake of the Woods High School
    Elizabeth Osborne, 2nd grade teacher, Robbinsdale Area Schools
    Cindy Palm, teacher, Moundsview
    Paul Peterson, teacher, International Falls
    Thomas Raymond, teacher, Shorewood
    Jason Savage, teacher
    William Schultz, 9-12 business teacher, PEM High School

PUBLIC VIEWING INFORMATION: Meeting will be livestreamed by the House on HTV1:

TESTIFYING: To testify in person or submit written testimony, please contact the Commission staff at by 12:00 noon on Wednesday, May 3. Remote testimony is not available in this hearing room. Testimony is limited to the items listed on the agenda. Submitted testimony is public and will be included in the official commission record and posted to the webpage if received by deadline.

MEETING DOCUMENTS: Are posted on both the Commission website (, and the legislative calendars ( as soon as they are available.

ACCESSIBILITY/ACCOMMODATION: To comment on digital accessibility to meeting information, please submit comments using the Minnesota Legislature Accessibility & Usability Comment Form. To request an accommodation, please visit FAQs for Disability Access or contact the Legislative Coordinating Commission at

Meeting Details

  • Thursday, May 4, 2023
  • 9:00 AM
    Room 120 Capitol **NOTE ROOM CHANGE**
  • Chair: Rep. Kaohly Vang Her

Printable Agenda

Commission Member List

Subscribe to Meetings Notifications